Already a member? Click here to log in Click here to login
become a member join today, it's free
Yvonne Muthien


their rank




in their country


in their city


in their industry


in their company

their badges

Associate (Bronze)
Tomorrow's Leader Nominee 2013
Tomorrow's Leader Nominee 2014
Tomorrow's Leader Nominee 2015

More details on our ranking system

What is your professional reputation? Click here to register and find out.

Post your Who's Who profile on your website or your blog with our handy profile sharing widget →

Yvonne Muthien

Chairperson Sasol Inzalo Foundation

Born in Cape Town South Africa

Yvonne Muthien is the Chairperson of the Sasol Inzalo Foundation. She is also Chairperson of the President's Advisory Council, appointed by Nelson Mandela in 1998. She was the Chief Executive of Group Services at Sanlam Limited, Vice President Public Affairs, Coca-Cola Africa and Group Executive MTN. She was the founding Executive Director of Democracy & Governance HSRC and the first woman Public Service Commissioner appointed by President Mandela. In 2002 she was awarded The Order of the Grand Counselor of the Baobab by President Mbeki honouring her for her contribution to the development of new national symbols and an inclusive national identity.

Contact details

O: (011) 344 2860

Professional details

Current Position(s)

Chairperson | Foundation | SASOL LTD
Johannesburg, South Africa | 2009 - present

Mining, Energy and Natural Resources

Chairing Board of Trustees and oversight of Foundation strategy, programs and activities

Previous Position(s)

Head of Research | Dinokeng Scenarios
2008 - 2009


Member of Board | aurecon
Pretoria, South Africa | 2006 - 2009

Building, Construction and Engineering

Vice-President & Director, Strategic Projects & Public Affairs & Communications | Coca Cola Africa Group
London, United Kingdom | 2005 - 2007

Consumer Goods, Fashion and Retail

Member of Board | Africon Engineering International (Pty) Ltd
Pretoria, South Africa | 2001 - 2005

Building, Construction and Engineering

Board Member | South African Broadcasting Corporation
Johannesburg, South Africa | 2000 - 2003

Broadcast Media, Multimedia and Film

Member of Council | Stellenbosch University
Stellenbosch, South Africa | 2000 - 2002

Academia, Education and Training

Group Executive: Corporate Affairs | MTN GROUP LTD
Johannesburg, South Africa | 2000 - 2005

ICT and Telecommunications

Board Member | Transnet
Johannesburg, South Africa | 2000 - 2004

Transportation and Logistics

Director & Trustee | SA Democracy Education Trust
Pretoria, South Africa | 2000 - 2000

Academia, Education and Training

Member of Board | Mossgas
Port Elizabeth, South Africa | 1998 - 2000

Mining, Energy and Natural Resources

Executive Director: Democracy & Governance | Human Sciences Research Council
Pretoria | 1997 - 2000

Public Service Commissioner | Public Service Commission
Pretoria, South Africa | 1994 - 1997

Government, Public Administration and Defence

Public Service Commisioner appointed by President Mandela

Associate Professor | Sociology, Natal University
Durban, South Africa | 1990 - 1994

Academia, Education and Training

Senior Lecturer | Sociology | University of the Western Cape
Cape Town, South Africa | 1978 - 1990

Academia, Education and Training

Educational history


Elswood High School, Cape Town, South Africa (1974)


Harvard Business School

Boston, United States of America | 2012 - 2012

Leadership in Financial Organisations - Financial Services

Global Program for financial services executives

University of the Western Cape

Completed 1978

B.A. (Hons) cum laude

University of the Witwatersrand - Wits Business School

Completed 2004

Finance for Non-Financial Managers



Order of the Grand Counsellor of the Baobab | President Mbeki | 2002

Award for Contribution to development of new national symbols and creation of new national identity

Honorary Professorate in Sociology | University of Pretoria

Hon Membership of the Golden Key National Honour Society | University of Stellenbosch

Awarded the Status of Officer | The Order of St. John, an Order of Her Majesty the Queen

ORS Merit Award for Overseas Students | Comm of University Principals

JCR Third World Scholarship (Merit Award) | Christ Church College, Oxford University

British Council Award for MLitt/DPhil studies | Oxford

Ford Foundation Research Grant

Fulbright Scholarship

Academic Achievements

BA cum laude | 1978

MA degree - A-average | 1980

BA Hons cum laude | 1979



International Editorial Board: Social Identities

Member, 1990 - 1994

Editorial Advisory Board: Journal of African Elections

Member, 1990 - 1994

Incorrect information? to report this profile.

Earn your Status

Join Who's Who and earn badges while our ranking system tracks your professional progress:

who's who Statistics

317225 Active profiles
128924 Profile views this week
128 New profiles this week
4 Achieved Who's Who Status this week

You need to be registered and signed in to network with this member.

Sign InRegister

Join Now