Who? SA

Bafana Bafana ready to roll after months of inactivity

Bafana Bafana coach Molefi Ntseki says the team is ready to get back on the pitch after being out of action for close to a year.

The men’s national team play their first game since the country went into lockdown on Thursday, as they take on Namibia at Royal Bafokeng Stadium in Rustenburg.

The match is the first of two fixtures planned for the upcoming Fifa international, taking place three days before they are due to travel to play Zambia in Lusaka.

Training in full swing

Having welcomed some of the European-based contingent in the camp, Ntseki is delighted to have most of his charges around.

“I am glad that the team has finally settled down and ready to get the ball rolling after Monday’s frustrations with the rains,” said Ntseki. “We had a light session with a lot of ball work to allow the players to get back into full swing. They were very eager to get back onto the pitch and reunite after such a long time. I believe that everything we had been working on before COVID-19 just came back to the senior players, while the newcomers also adapted very easily. “We will work on our game tactics in our video session later today and focus more in-depth on Namibia in tomorrow’s session.”

Molefi Ntseki

Two changes have been made to Ntseki’s squad, with AmaZulu midfielder Siyethemba Sithebe called up alongside Vitoria de Guimaraes striker Lyle Foster in place of Kurt Abrahams and Sipho Mbule.

Bafana squad to face Namibia and Zambia 

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (Oud-Haverlee Leuven FC – Belgium), Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Ricardo Goss (Mamelodi Sundowns).

Defenders: Thibang Phete (OS Belenenses SAD (Portugal), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Orlando Pirates), S’fiso Hlanti (without club), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Abubaker Mobara (Cape Town City), Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs).

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Mothobi Mvala, Themba Zwane (Sundowns), Thabo Nodada (CTC), Teboho Mokoena (Supersport), Gladwin Shitolo (Arrows), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier), Percy Tau (Anderlecht, Belgium), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United), Siyethemba Sithebe (AmaZulu), Luther Singh (Braga FC).

Strikers: Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City), Lyle Foster (Vitoria de Guimaraes, Portugal), Lebohang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs).

Exit mobile version