Site icon Who? SA

PSL awards: Themba Zwane bags R500k worth in prize money

The top performers from the 2019/20 Premier Soccer League (PSL) campaign were rewarded for their brilliance on Thursday night at the SuperSport Studios in Randburg at the annual awards evening.

This year’s awards ceremony was held through a virtual format due to the COVID-19 pandemic however the hype remained the same with Mamelodi Sundowns’ Themba Zwane bagging top honours on the night.

SuperSport United striker Bradley Grobler walked away with the MTN8 Last man standing award after beating teammates Clayton Daniels and Ronwen Williams to the award while Gaston Sirino was rewarded for his Telkom Knockout heroics during Mamelodi Sundowns’ Cup winning campaign with the top performers award.

Bloemfontein Celtic’s Victor Letsoalo was awarded for guiding his side to the Nedbank Cup final while former Mamelodi Sundowns manager Pitso Mosimane bagged two awards of his own.

Themba Zwane the big winner on the night

Mamelodi Sundowns ace Themba Zwane bagged the Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season award, PSL Player’s Player of the Season award and the coveted PSL Player of the Season award. Zwane was rewarded for his stellar season in which he directly contributed to 23 goals for Mamelodi Sundowns in the PSL. He walked away with R500 000 in prize money following his triple triumph.

PSL award winners in full

  • MTN8 last man standing: Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United)
  • Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Gaston Sirino (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Keletso Makgalwa (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Victor Letsoalo (Bloemfontein Celtic)
  • GladAfrica Championship Top Goalscorer: Abdenigo Mosiatlhaga (Ajax)
  • PSL Assistant Referee of the Season: Shaun Olive
  • PSL Referee of the Season: Jelly Chavani
  • PSL Chairman’s award: Alvin Naicker, Stanley Matthews and Pitso Mosimane
  • Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)
  • Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Rushine De Reuck (Maritzburg United)
  • Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • Absa Premiership Top Goal Scorer of the Season: Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park)
  • Absa Premiership Young Player of the Season: Goodman Mosele (Baroka FC)
  • Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • PSL Player’s Player of the Season: Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
  • PSL Player of the Season: Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Exit mobile version