Site icon Who? SA

Springbok Showdown an examination of character not talent

The Springbok rugby brains trust will be looking at Saturday’s trial match with an eye on much more than just performance on the day.

According to Springbok captain Siya Kolisi the showdown will be all about who exhibits the character required to don the Green and Gold.

Springboks looking for warrriors

Kolisi said that the Springboks are looking for players who give their all and not necessarily flawless footballers.

“That is all we have spoken about this entire week. That is what you want to show as a Springbok, you can forget anything else. No talent required,” Kolisi said.

“Not being scared, putting your heart in there. When you show, don’t show pain and when you make a big hit, don’t make everyone see you push the guy on the floor.

“Just give it everything you can, just wear your heart on your sleeve at all times. Take pride in what you do. That is what we are looking for, what you can do off the ball and also your workrate.

“Everything basically that is not talent required is what we are looking for. We understand that mistakes will be made and that is ok.”

Seeing where we are at

Kolisi said that he is looking forward to seeing what South African rugby is producing when the nations best locally-based players meet in the Springbok Showdown.

“I think we have been speaking about it as a group, we want to show what we can do. The players who have been picked in the team and for us who have been here for a while to see where we are. We can keep on working to get better.

“It is a great opportunity for those who have never been here. For some players, it will be the closest they get to a test match. I’m looking forward to seeing what we have and I think we have a strong group playing here.”

Springbok showdown teams

Springbok Green:

15 – Gianni Lombard

14 – Yaw Penxe

13 – Wandisile Simelane

12 – Frans Steyn

11 – Malcolm Jaer

10 – Elton Jantjies

9 – Sanele Nohamba

8 – Duane Vermeulen

7 – Arno Botha

6 – Siya Kolisi (captain)

5 – Hyron Andrews

4 – JD Schickerling

3 – Luan de Bruin

2 – Bongi Mbonambi

1 – Ox Nche


16 – Schalk Erasmus

17 – Kwenzo Blose

18 – Thomas du Toit

19 – JJ van der Mescht

20 – Juarno Augustus

21 – Junior Pokomela

22 – Embrose Papier

23 – Manie Libbok

24 – Jeremy Ward

25 – Kade Wolhuter

Springbok Gold:

15 – Warrick Gelant

14 – Rosko Specman

13 – Lukhanyo Am (captain)

12 – Rikus Pretorius

11 – Courtnall Skosan

10 – Damian Willemse

9 – Herschel Jantjies

8 – Sikhumbuzo Notshe

7 – Nizaam Carr

6 – Marco van Staden

5 – Marvin Orie

4 – Salmaan Moerat

3 – Ruan Dreyer

2 – Scarra Ntubeni

1 – Steven Kitshoff


16 – Dylan Richardson

17 – Dylan Smith

18 – Carlü Sadie

19 – Jason Jenkins

20 – James Venter

21 – Vincent Tshituka

22 – Ivan van Zyl

23 – Curwin Bosch

24 – Werner Kok

25 – Manuel Rass

Exit mobile version