Who? SA

Springbok Showdown: Kolisi, Am to captain the two sides at Newlands

Rugby World Cup-winning duo Siya Kolisi and Lukhanyo Am have been appointed captains of their respective sides in Saturday’s historic Springbok Showdown.

In one of the curtain-risers for the upcoming rugby season, the country’s top players will battle it out against one another, as Green faces Gold at Newlands in Cape Town.

Springbok Showdown captains confirmed

Just days before the two teams – comprising of Springbok regulars, fringe players and some uncapped rising stars – the names of the two men who will be leading from the front were announced.

Kolisi will skipper the Green team – wearing his number six jersey in an imposing back row consisting of fellow Boks, Arno Botha and Duane Vermeulen – while Am leads out the men in Gold as he partners former Junior Bok, Rikus Pretorius in the midfield.

Former Sevens star Mzwandile Stick, who was part of the technical team which brought the Webb-Ellis trophy back to South Africa in November last year, will coach the star-studded Green squad.

The Gold side, which is also not short of big names, will be mentored by the experienced Deon Davids.

The former Kings coach is pleased with how preparations for the historic clash have gone.

“The week has gone very well so far, with good enthusiasm at training and a great eagerness to learn and to absorb what is happening in this special environment,” he said.

Deon Davids

Matchday squads

The two matchday squads for the Springbok Showdown are;

Springbok Green (15-1): Gianni Lombard, Yaw Penxe, Wandisile Simelane, Frans Steyn, Malcolm Jaer, Elton Jantjies Sanele Nohamba, Duane Vermeulen, Arno Botha, Siya Kolisi (captain), Hyron Andrews, JD Schickerling, Luan de Bruin, Bongi Mbonambi,Ox Nche

Replacements: Schalk Erasmus, Kwenzo Blose, Thomas du Toit, JJ van der Mescht, Juarno Augustus, Junior Pokomela, Embrose Papier, Manie Libbok, Jeremy Ward, Kade Wolhuter

Springbok Gold (15-1): Warrick Gelant, Rosko Specman, Lukhanyo Am (captain), Rikus Pretorius, Courtnall Skosan, Damian Willemse, Herschel Jantjies, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Nizaam Carr, Marco van Staden, Marvin Orie, Salmaan Moerat, Ruan Dreyer, Scarra Ntubeni, Steven Kitshoff.

Replacements: Dylan Richardson, Dylan Smith, Carlü Sadie, Jason Jenkins, James Venter, Vincent Tshituka, Ivan van Zyl, Curwin Bosch, Werner Kok, Manuel Rass.

Exit mobile version