Who? SA

Gabadinho Mhango ruled out of Soweto Derby clash

Orlando Pirates will be without one of the key cogs to their machine in Gabadinho Mhango ahead of the MTN 8 semifinal clash against rivals Kaizer Chiefs.

The Malawian international has been a key player to the Buccaneers’ charge since his arrival at the beginning of last season, where he scored 18 goals – including two against Amakhosi – across all competitions.

Gabadinho Mhango ruled out of Soweto derby

After getting off the mark in the ongoing campaign – via a penalty against AmaZulu – he will have to wait before adding to his tally.

This is after sustaining a groin injury, which forced him out of the 1-1 draw against Stellenbosch on Wednesday night.

The 28-year-old was replaced by promising striker Zakhele Lepasa, who starts against Chiefs on Saturday.

Another unavailable option up front is Tshegofatso Mabasa, who underwent surgery during the offseason, and is still recovering.

Pirates issued out an update on their walking wounded ahead of the game, which includes South Africa youth international Bongani Sam.

“Mhango, who had picked up his injury during warm-up in Pirates’ midweek game against Stellenbosch FC, will continue to undergo rehabilitation as the medical team tries to get him ready for Bucs’ next match against Bloemfontein Celtic,” Orlando Pirates revealed on their official website. “Other players who are ruled out for selection today are Bongani Sam and Tshegofatso Mabasa, who are both recovering from their respective injuries.”

Orlando Pirates

The match between Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs kicks off at 15:00 (SAST).

Orlando Pirates vs Kaizer Chiefs: Starting XIs

Pirates: 31. Ofori, 14. Hlatshwayo, 5. Nyauza, 17. Jooste, 23. Maela, 6. Motshwari, 16. Monare, 45. Pule, 3. Lorch, 27. Dzvukamanja, 25. Lepasa

Subs: 30. Sandilands, 32. Mntambo, 29. Mako, 21. Zungu, 15. Makaringe, 12. Makgaka, 11. Hotto, 8. Ndlovu, 4. Jele.

Chiefs: 40. Akpeyi, 2. Mphahlele, 4. Cardoso, 30. Ngezana, 22. Zulu, 6. Baccus, 45. Blom, 37. Ngcobo, 21. Manyama , 11. Billiat, 8. Castro. Subs: 32. Khune, 25. Parker, 31. Katsande, 3. Mathoho, 20. Sasman, 19. Mashiane, 10. Ntshangase, 46. Sifama, 47. Lesako.

Exit mobile version