Who? SA

Western Province 9-19 Sharks: Currie Cup semi-final as it happened – 23 January 2021

Western Province vs Sharks promises to be yet another Currie Cup epic between two teams with an incredible pedigree in the tournament.

Western Province 19-9 Sharks: Report

The Sharks beat Western Province in a war of attrition at Newlands, holding off a late surge to claim a 19-9 win.

Curwin Bosch’s boot was the difference between the two sides as he showed incredible range to goal three early long-range penalties that gave the Sharks a 9-0 lead.

Western Province tried manfully to get over the Sharks line but were repelled again and again eventually accepting three points after setting up five lineouts in the Sharks 22.

Swiel goaled two penalties before half time to cut the gap to three points.

Half time: Western Province 6-9 Sharks.

Western Province started the second half well and were rewarded with an early penalty which Swiel goaled to level the scores.

Moments later with the Sharks on attack, Bosch slotted a dropgoal that put the visitors back in the lead.

The second half was a real arm-wrestle but Western Province just couldn’t make pressure pay.

Eventually the Sharks throught they had scored the first try but Thembelani Bholi’s effort was ruled out for obstruction.

The Sharks would come back though and seemingly through sheer willpower forced their way over with just five minutes to go. JJ van der Mescht came up with the ball and Bosch converted the score to make it 19-9.

Western Province turned down three shots at goal that might have set up a cliffhanger as they pressed for a try, but they couldn’t get over and the Sharks qualified for their third Currie Cup final in four years.

Western Province vs Sharks – Currie Cup semi-final Live updates

Our live updates will appear below; they might take longer to load on slower connections. Please refresh your browser if updates are delayed or interrupted.


Western Province – 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Tim Swiel, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Johan du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak. Replacements (from): 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Leon Lyons, 18 Neethling Fouche, 19 Chris van Zyl, 20 Ernst van Rhyn, 21 Jaco Coetzee, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Ruhan Nel, 24 Sazi Sandi, 25 Tristan Leyds.

Sharks – 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Hyron Andrews, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Manie Libbok.

Western Province vs Sharks – Match Information

Date: Saturday, 23 January 2021

Time: 16:30

Venue: DHL Newlands, Cape Town

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen

Assistant Referees: Cwengile Jadezweni and Aimee Barrett-Theron

TMO: Stuart Berry

TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby

Exit mobile version