Blitzboks pair crack nod for Sevens Dream Team


Two Blitzboks players have made the World Rugby Sevens dream team, following their display in the 2020 edition of the world series.

Selvyn Davids and JC Pretorius starred for South Africa in the series, which was cut short with the men in green and gold in second place, touching distance from New Zealand, who were eventually awarded the championship.

Blitzboks pair in Dream Team 

The South Africans did not walk away entirely empty-handed, as two of their standout performers were honoured with individual accolades.

“It certainly is a dream come true and very unexpected,” said Davids. “One will always credit your teammates when awards come your way, and this is certainly as much acknowledgement to their efforts as to mine. They contributed in a huge way and I want to thank them for that.”

Both players noted the Blitzboks’ victory in the Los Angeles Sevens as their standout moment of the campaign.

“I was not on the field anymore when we scored to force extra time and then got the winning try in sudden death, but even from the side, that was an amazing feeling. In fact, I still get goose bumps just talking about it.”

Pretorius added;

“That was special yes. My favourite try was against Japan in Cape Town though. Just playing in front of our home fans for the first time was such a special moment for me and when I scored my first try in front of them, it was such an amazing feeling.”

The 22-year-old said he was stunned by the fact that he made Dream Team.

“It is still sinking in and I am enjoying every minute of this. We are pretty much a team where everyone contributes and as such, this is also reward to the rest of the guys, so I want to thank all of them as well for the award.”

How the World Rugby Sevens Series Dream Team looks

Two Fijians also cracked the nod for the Dream Team, while each of New Zealand, Ireland and France are represented by one player.

Scott Curry is the only Kiwi in the team, while the two European nations are represented by Tavite Veredamu (France) and Jordan Conroy (Ireland).

Fiji pair Napolioni Bolaca and Aminiasi Tuimaba round up the group of seven.

The 2021 edition of the World Rugby Sevens series will exclude the Dubai and Cape Town tournaments, which usually take place towards the end of the year. Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here