CSA names players enrolled in national academy programme


Cricket South Africa (CSA) has revealed names of players enrolled in the men’s national academy.

The development programme was overhauled in November last year, with the women’s academy intake announced in February 2020.

Fresh talent identified 

Ahead of the start of the domestic season, it was the men’s turn on Friday, with a number of promising players set to be part of the high-performance programme.

Former Proteas bowling coach, now CSA High-Performance Manager, Vincent Barnes says the players identified can be added to any of the national teams at any time during the three-year programme, should they be selected.

 “The selected squad forms the South Africa Emerging (SA Emerging) team which usually has an inbound or outbound tour. The team was due to tour Zimbabwe in July or August, but that outing has since been cancelled. An alternative will be announced at a later stage,” Barnes said.

“As with so many of our other High-Performance programmes, COVID-19 has affected the PNA. The past few months have also seen a change in the coaching structure with Malibongwe Maketa taking over as coach of the Academy in the place of Shukri Conrad who now coaches the South Africa under-19s.”

Vincent Barnes

The players called up to the academy include promising Warriors duo Matthew Breetzke and Sinethemba Qeshile, One-Day Cup breakout star Grant Roelofsen, as well as former SA Under-19 wicketkeeper Wandile Makwetu, as well as his Knights teammate Gerald Coetzee.

Other more familiar names are Titans quick Thando Ntini and Cobras all-rounder Jason Smith.

CSA men’s national academy 2020-22

Joshua Richards (Imperial Lions), Matthew Breetzke (Warriors), Bryce Parsons (Gauteng), Sinethemba Qeshile (Warriors), Kabelo Sekhukune (Momentum Multiply Titans), Grant Roelofsen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Wandile Makwetu (VKB Knights), Gregory Mahlokwana (Momentum Multiply Titans), Lifa Ntanzi (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Gerald Coetzee (VKB Knights), Thando Ntini (Momentum Multiply Titans), Marco Jansen (Warriors), Stefan Tait (Warriors), Dayyaan Galiem (Momentum Multiply Titans), Tshepo Ntuli (Warriors), Jason Smith (Cape Cobras), Jonathan Bird (Cape Cobras).

DMCA.com Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here