Scotland call up two SA-born players for year-end Tests

Scotland coach Gregor Townsend has named two uncapped South Africans in his squad for the upcoming international season.

The November and December Test window will allow for the conclusion of the 2020 Six Nations tournament, with Tests against France, Fiji and Italy in the newly-formed Autumn Nations Cup also lined up.

South African duo earn Six Nations spots 

In a 40-strong squad, the former international flyhalf has called up Edinburgh’s SA-born winger Duhan van der Merwe, as well as ex-Western Province prop Oliver Kebble.

The two players make up two-thirds of the uncapped players in the squad, with Harlequins scrumhalf Scott Steele also in line for a Test debut.

Making a return to the fold is flyhalf Finn Russell, who was not part of the first part of the Six Nations after reportedly falling out with Townsend.

“We are very much looking forward to coming back together as a coaching and playing group after such an unprecedented and challenging period in our sport and across society in general,” said Townsend. “There was a strong feeling that we were growing as a team during the Six Nations earlier this year, making progress from game to game as well as building closer bonds within the squad.”

Gregor Townsend, Scotland coach

Scotland Test squad

Forwards: Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), Jamie Bhatti (Edinburgh), Fraser Brown (Glasgow), Blair Cowan (London Irish/ENG), Scott Cummings (Glasgow), Cornell du Preez (Worcester/ENG), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Jonny Gray (Exeter/ENG), Richie Gray (Glasgow), Rob Harley (Glasgow), Nick Haining (Edinburgh), Oli Kebble (Glasgow), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Willem Nel (Edinburgh), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Sam Skinner (Exeter/ENG), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh), Blade Thomson (Scarlets/WAL), Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)

Backs: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Nick Grigg (Glasgow), Chris Harris (Gloucester/ENG), Adam Hastings (Glasgow), Stuart Hogg (Exeter/ENG, capt), George Horne (Glasgow), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh), Sam Johnson (Glasgow), Huw Jones (Glasgow), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), James Lang (Harlequins/ENG), Sean Maitland (Saracens/ENG), Ali Price (Glasgow), Finn Russell (Racing 92/FRA), Scott Steele (Harlequins/ENG), Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh), Duncan Weir (Worcester/ENG). Protection Status

Latest articles

IPL 2020: Struggling KXIP boosted by Chris Gayle recovery

Chris Gayle has been recovering from a stomach bug in a hospital in the United Arab Emirates as his IPL side Kings XI Punjab...

Watch: Anrich Nortje had no idea he had bowled the fastest ball in IPL history

Anrich Nortje revealed that he had no idea he had broken the record for the fastest delivery in IPL history until the post-match presentation...

Rugby fans invited to determine greatest of the decade

South African rugby fans can nail their colours to the mast by voting for the best Springbok and Blitzbok players, and a few superb...

Springboks pull out of 2020 Rugby Championship

The Springboks will not be participating in the 2020 Rugby Championship, which takes place in Australia at the end of the year.The reigning champions...

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here