Super Rugby Unlocked: Griquas vs Pumas – Starting XVs


Griquas will field an unchanged starting fifteen for their home match against a much-changed Pumas on Saturday. 

Kick-off in Kimberley is at 16:30.

Griquas name unchanged starting XV

Griquas make two changes on the bench for their first home fixture of the new local competition, both of them amongst the forwards.

Prop Andrew Beerwinkel comes into the matchday squad in place of Bandisa Ndlovu, while utility forward Ewan Coetzee was also drafted into the replacements in a swap with Johan Momsen.

Griquas made a good first impression last weekend against the Bulls at Loftus, where they led on the scoreboard for just over an hour before the home side managed to wrangle control of the match.

The Peacock Blues’ defended with determination and made good use of their scoring opportunities, however, they will have to cut down on their high penalty count which ultimately left the door open for the Bulls to clinch the opening-round fixture through a couple of Morne Steyn penalty goals.

Pumas ring changes

Pumas coach Jimmy Stonehouse has made a bunch of changes to his side for their second-round Super Rugby Unlocked clash.

Injuries to two key players, Ryan Nell and Le Roux Roets, have forced Stonehouse’s hand. Nell (centre) captained the Pumas last weekend and Roets (lock) gained some valuable experience on loan to the Sharks earlier in the season.

The only players who will start again this week are Devon Williams (fullback), Wayne van der Bank (centre), Neil Maritz (left wing), Eddie Fouche (flyhalf), Ginter Smuts (scrumhalf), Willie Engelbrecht (flank), Ruan Kramer and Morgan Naude (both props).

With Nell out of action – probably for the rest of the season after he injured his knee early last weekend against the Cheetahs – Pieter Janse van Vuren (lock) will lead the Pumas this weekend, ironically against a team he captained earlier in his career.

Griquas vs Pumas – Starting XVs

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 André Swarts, 11 James Verity-Amm, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Niell Jordaan, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Carl Els, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli. Replacements (from): Alandre van Rooyen, Andrew Beerwinkel, Madot Mabokela, Adre Smith, Zandre Jordaan, Gideon van der Merwe, Ashon Davids, Berton Klaasen, Mzwanele Zito, Ewan Coetzee, Bjorn Basson.

Phakisa Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Etienne Taljaard, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Neil Maritz, 10 Eddie Fouche, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Darrien Landsburg, 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Morgan Naude. Replacements: 16 HP van Schoor, 17 Liam Hendricks, 18 Heath Backhouse, 19 Phumzile Maqondwana, 20 Dian Badenhorst, 21 Neil Marais, 22 Ali Mgijima, 23 Dewald Maritz.

Match information – Griquas vs Pumas

Date: Saturday 17 October

Time: 16:30

Venue: Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley

Referee: AJ Jacobs

Assistant Referees: Griffin Colby, Ben Crouse

Television Match Official: Cwengile Jadezweni

TV: SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here