Bloemfontein Celtic edge United to book a spot in MTN 8 final


A second-half strike from Victor Letsoalo sent Bloemfontein Celtic to the MTN 8 final as they overcame reigning champions Supersport United at Dr Molemela Stadium in the second leg of their semifinal tie on Saturday.

Having grabbed an all-important away goal in the away leg, the hosts on Saturday only needed a goalless draw for a clear path into the last two, where one of the Soweto giants, Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs await.

Bloemfontein Celtic 1-0 Supersport United: MTN 8 match report 

As expected, United were the quickest off the blocks with Jamie Webber coming close to securing a crucial away goal for his side. However, his shot rolled just wide of the target.

Celtic goalkeeper Jackson Mabokgwane was summoned into action in the 15th minute, as he denied Bradley Grobler after sustained pressure from the visitors.

At the other end, Celtic got close through captain Ndumiso Mabena, whose shot was easily dealt with by Ronwen Williams.

Things would remain scoreless heading into the break, and the deadlock was broken five minutes after the restart when Letsoalo, who gave United an uphill climb in the final 40.

There were chances for either side in the latter stages of the game, but none yielded the crucial breakthrough.

This gave Celtic their second dig at silverware this year, as they made their second final in as many months.

The Free State outfit will meet one of Pirates or Chiefs, who contest the other MTN 8 semifinal at FNB Stadium on Sunday, while United’s journey ends in the last four after winning two of the last three tournaments.

Starting XIs

Celtic: 16. Mabokgwane, 26. Ngobeni, 13. Luthuli, 3. Mahashe, 10. Mabena, 22. Rikhoto, 34. Fikizolo, 18. Mashikinya, 35. Baloyi, 21. Letsoalo, 15. Pfumbidzai.

Subs: 31. Chaine, 33. Chabalala, 11. Potsane, 2. Tani, 20. De Jongh, 7. Mangweni, 19. Matjila, 25. Ndwandwe, 12. Maema.

SuperSport: 30. Williams, 27. Philipps, 18. Nhlapo, 3. Khumalo, 23. Waiswa, 28. Mokoena, 14. Bhasera, 17. Lungu, 13. Gabuza, 12. Webber, 7. Grobler.

Subs: 31. Pule, 11. Mahachi, 38. Moralo, 19. Rusike, 9. Rayners, 26. Donn, 34. Appollis, 15. Mohomi. Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here