Commonwealth Games cricket qualification process announced


The Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) and the International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced the qualification process for the cricket tournament at the 2022 games in Birmingham.

The ICC have sanctioned the involvement of its Commonwealth member nations’ Women’s teams in a T20 tournament.

Cricket returns to the Commonwealth Games

Women’s cricket will be a part of the Commonwealth Games for the first time ever in 2022 as cricket returns for the first time since 1998.

The qualification process announced on Wednesday grants hosts England one spot while six other highest-ranked ICC Members in the Women’s T20I Team Rankings as of 1 April 2021 also qualify directly for the eight-team tournament, which will be held in a city that has an iconic cricket venue in Edgbaston.

The remaining place in the tournament will be allocated to the winner of a Commonwealth Games Qualifier, the format and details of which are yet to be announced.

Since athletes from the Caribbean will be representing their individual countries, the winner of a qualifying tournament will decide which nation gets to compete if the West Indies get a slot.

CGF President Louise Martin and ICC Chief Executive Manu Sawhney emphasized on the potential of cricket in the Commonwealth Games.

“We are absolutely delighted to have women’s T20 cricket debut at the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games,” Martin said.

“Cricket has always been one of the Commonwealth’s most popular sports and it is so special to have it back at our Games for the first time since the men’s competition at Kuala Lumpur 1998, where true greats of the game including Ricky Ponting, Jacques Kallis and Sachin Tendulkar were on show. Now is the turn of the women and I can’t wait to see the next generation of stars like Heather Knight, Harmanpreet Kaur and Meg Lanning take centre stage.

“Birmingham 2022 will be a fantastic showcase for the women’s game and the unveiling of the qualification criteria today is an exciting and important milestone as we head towards what will be a spectacular competition at the iconic Edgbaston Stadium.”

Sawhney hopes that the tournament will help to maintain the momentum gained from the wildly successful 2020 T20 World Cup in Australia.

“Cricket at the Commonwealth Games is a fantastic opportunity for us to continue to grow the women’s game globally,” Sahwney said.

“We are committed to accelerating this growth and maintaining the momentum we have created over the past few years, which most recently saw 86,174 fans packed into the MCG for the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020.

“I thank the Commonwealth Games Federation for their support and for making this possible. We share with them the vision of greater equality, fairness and opportunity in sport and I am sure Birmingham 2022 will go a long way towards us achieving our common objectives.”

ICC Women’s T20I Rankings

2 England308,405280
3 India328,640270
4 New Zealand236,197269
5 South Africa245,978249
6 West Indies266,126236
7 Pakistan245,516230
8 Sri Lanka183,631202
9 Bangladesh265,001192
10 Ireland132,180168
11 Thailand264,145159
12 Zimbabwe111,711156
13 Scotland101,491149
14 Nepal111,457132
15 Papua New Guinea111,423129
16 Samoa6749125
17 UAE111,330121
18 Uganda131,563120
19 Tanzania111,191108
20 Indonesia131,12987
21 Netherlands1083283
22 Kenya865482
23 Namibia161,09969
24 Hong Kong1387567
25 Germany1172766
26 China1169863
27 Brazil1159954
28 Vanuatu632454
29 Japan526052
30 France314348
31 United States418647
32 Belize626945
33 Argentina939844
34 Rwanda1042643
35 Myanmar521242
36 Kuwait833742
37 Sierra Leone624541
38 Malaysia1768740
39 Jersey416040
40 Botswana1143139
41 Nigeria928432
42 Oman923326
43 Bhutan49123
44 South Korea47318
45 Malawi1015816
46 Chile1012412
47 Singapore66110
48 Costa Rica76810
49 Mozambique12817
50 Mexico7335
51 Austria891
52 Norway300
53 Lesotho300
54 Fiji600
55 Mali300
56 Peru800
Women’s T20I Rankings – Last update 2 October 2020 Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here