Pumas vs Sharks: Super Rugby Unlocked preview and kick-off time


The Pumas have another tough assignment at home on Saturday, as they prepare to meet a wounded Sharks side at Mbombela Stadium in the fourth round of Super Rugby Unlocked.

The Durban outfit had a rough outing in their most recent fixture, where they were outclassed by a rampant Bulls outfit who ran off 41-14 winners at Loftus Versfeld.

Pumas vs Sharks: Super Rugby Unlocked preview 

They are back on the road again, this time coming up against a valiant Pumas side who ran one of the pre-tournament favourites, the Stormers, quite close in Nelspruit before ending up on the wrong side of a 42-37 scoreline. This was after registering an unexpected victory away to the Griquas a week prior.

The last two Pumas results will no doubt have dispelled any notions that Jimmy Stonehouse’s men will be walkovers in the first edition of Super Rugby Unlocked.

The former Bulls youth coach has tinkered with his side for the match against the Sharks, bringing in prop Liam Hendricks and flyhalf Fiela Boshoff in place of Morgan Naude and Eddie Fouche, respectively. There are also changes made among the replacements.

For the Sharks, winger Madosh Tambwe replaces Sevens star, Werner Kok after returning from injury.

Among the forwards, world cup-winning Springbok prop Thomas du Toit is replaced by John-Hubert Meyer, while fellow Bok Sikhumbuzo Notshe makes way for Phepsi Buthelezi at No.8.


Pumas: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Neil Maritz, 13 Erich Cronje, 12 Wayne van der Bank, 11 Etienne Taljaard, 10 Fiela Boshoff, 9 Ginter Smuts, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Willie Engelbrecht, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Pieter Jansen van Vuren (captain), 4 Darrien Landsburg, 3 Ruan Kramer, 2 AJ le Roux, 1 Liam Hendricks.

Replacements: 16 Marko 17 Janse van Rensburg, 18 Stepan de Jager, 19 Brendon Valentyn, 20 Phumzile Maqondwana, 21 Chriswill Willemse, 22 Neil Marais, 23 Ali Mgijima. Reserves: Dewald Maritz, Daniel Maartens, HP van Schoor, Kwanda Dimaza.

Sharks: 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (capt), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Phendulani Buthelezi, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 JJ van der Mescht, 3 John Hubert-Meyer, 2 Dan Jooste, 1 Ox Nche.

Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Yaw Penxe.

Kick-off and TV stream

The match will kick off at 16:30, airing live on Supersport Grandstand.

DMCA.com Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here