Sharks name rejigged side for trip to Kimberley


The Sharks take on Griquas on Friday in Kimberley in their penultimate Super Rugby Unlocked pool game, hoping to make it three wins in a row.

Kick-off is at 19:00.


Griquas have not enjoyed the kind of success they would have wanted so far, having lost all four of their matches in the tournament and in this, their final home game of the competition (before visiting Bloemfontein to take on the Cheetahs in the final weekend’s action), would like nothing better than putting one over the Sharks.

Jeremy Ward, who co-captained the Sharks in last year’s Currie Cup competition along with Tera Mtembu, will lead the team that shows a number of changes.

As per the regulation, weekly Covid-19 testing takes place within the Sharks camp and unfortunately there has been one confirmed positive case among the squad.

The player, along with those that have been identified as having close contact with him, are isolating and are being monitored by the team doctor.

Head coach Sean Everitt has rejigged his side, particularly among the forwards with the return to the starting line-up of a number of players who have worked their way back either from injury or rest.

After playing off the bench in the last few games, hooker Kerron van Vuuren comes in for Daniel Jooste, while Ruben van Heerden is back in the second row after two starts for JJ van der Mescht, who will play off the bench.

In the back-row, James Venter is in for Dylan Richardson with Thembelani Bholi earning a first start and Phepsi Buthelezi completing the loose forward trio.

Anthony Volmink, formerly of Griquas and the Cheetahs starts in the No 15 jersey in place of Manie Libbok against his former team.



15 Masixole Banda, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Johan Momsen, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli

Substitutes (from): 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Madot Mabokela, 19 Carl Els, 20 CJ Velleman, 21 Theo Maree, 22 Tinus de Beer, 23 Daniel Kasende, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 Ewan Coetzee, 26 Ashlon Davids


15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Jeremy Ward (c), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Madosh Tambwe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 James Venter, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 John-Hubert Meyer, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Khwezi Mona, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Dylan Richardson, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Sbu Nkosi Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here