Wallabies’ mission impossible Tri-Nations task: Beat Argentina by 101 points!


Even on paper it sounds impossible.

Can Australia or Argentina steal this year’s Tri-Nations trophy away from the All Blacks?

Sure, they can.

All the Wallabies will need to do in Saturday’s final match is beat the Pumas by 101 points.

A glance at the record books will show that in 646 Tests since their very first back in 1899, the Wallabies have only managed three figures once.

That was their 142-point drubbing of Nambia at the 2003 Rugby World Cup.

I’m here to tell you that Argentina are better than Namibia.

The Pumas for their part face a much ‘easier’ task – win by a 93-point margin.

Unbelievably, Argentina have achieved that on 12 previous occasions, but Paraguay (6 times), Brazil (5 times) and Venezuela (once) don’t really count.

Even the most ardent of supporters of both sides will surely have given up all hope.


So where did it go so wrong for the Wallabies and Pumas? After all, both sides did beat New Zealand during the tournament.

It’s been the lop-sided defeats that they suffered against the All Blacks compared to the narrow wins that has come back to bite them.

The Wallabies beat the All Blacks 24-22, but lost 43-5.

Similarly, the Pumas beat the All Blcks 25-15, but lost 38-0.

And all the draw between Australia and Argentina did was keep both sides in with a mathematical chance of lifting the trophy rather than one side simply having to win next weekend.

The Tri-Nations started in 1996 and ran until 2011 when it became the Rugby Championship following the addition of Argentina to the tournament.

This year it reverted back to the Tri-Nations after the Springboks elected not to enter the tournament citing Covid-19 concerns.

In the 24 editions of the Tri-Nations and Rugby Championship to date, the All Blacks have won 16, while the Wallabies and Springboks have tasted success on four occasions apiece.

Argentina are still looking to break their duck.

The final 2020 Tri-Nations clash between Australia and Argentina will take place at the Bankwest Stadium in Sydney on Saturday, December 5.

Kick-off is at 10:45 SA time.

Good luck to both sides!

DMCA.com Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here