Proteas Women: Training squad named ahead of Pakistan visit


Cricket South Africa announced the Proteas Women training squad for the Pakistan Women inbound tour on Sunday 20 December.

The squad features 25 players, including the four who are getting their first taste of the women’s national team environment. 

Pakistan will start their tour in Durban on 7 January 2021 and the two-format bilateral tour concludes on 4 February.

Moreeng getting a look at players

The Proteas Women will assemble for the training camp between 8 -14 January 2021 directed by coach Hilton Moreeng. The final match squad will then be announced on 15 January along with the South African Emerging side that will play Pakistan in a warm-up encounter.

The squad includes uncapped newbies Nobulumko Baneti, Evodia Yekile, Jenay Winster and Khayakazi Mathe who impressed in the recent Women Super League T20 in Cape Town.

Twenty-one of the 25 players boast prior international experience and the group includes experience campaigners like Shabnim Ismail, Laura Wolvaardt and Ayabong Khaka who all displayed their maturity and led with distinction in the WSLT20 competition.

A number of Proteas Women players were also recently in action in the WBBL in Australia.

“I am very much pleased about getting to training camp in January and working with all of the players that have been selected to attend the training camp in Durban,” said Moreeng.

“We have an excellent mixture of veteran Proteas and some exciting younger players who possess amazing talent. Personally, I am appreciative of the opportunity to return to international cricket and the commitment from our players to continue to make, and the eagerness of the new players to become involved.

“Selecting 18 players from this group will be extremely difficult. But I look forward to engaging with all of the players, representing our country and doing so in a manner that all cricket fans in our country will hopefully rally behind.’

Proteas Women squad for the training camp

Lizelle Lee (North West), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province), Trisha Chetty (KZN Coastal), Mignon du Preez (Northerns), Shabnim Ismail (KZN Coastal), Sune Luus (Northerns), Ayabonga Khaka (Gauteng), Maria Klaas (North West), Nadine de Klerk (Western Province), Tumi Sekhukhune (North West), Sinalo Jafta (Western Province), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Robyn Searle (Gauteng), Nonkululeko Mlaba (KZN Coastal), Faye Tunnicliffe (Western Province), Tazmin Brits (North West), Anneke Bosch (North West), Nondumiso Shangase (KZN Coastal), Nobulumko Baneti (Border), Khayakazi Mathe (Border), Evodia Yekile (North West), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Jenay Winster (SWD), Kirstie Thompson (Gauteng) Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here