Sharks vs Bulls match moved to avoid evening thunderstorms


SA Rugby have advised of a change in kick-off time for Saturday’s Carling Currie Cup fixture between the Sharks and the Bulls in Durban.

The table-topping clash at Jonsson Kings Park will now start at 14:00 instead of the scheduled 19:00 kick-off.

Weather forces schedule change

The action continues on Saturday at 16:30 when the Cheetahs host the Lions in their first Carling Currie Cup home match of the season in Bloemfontein. All the action will be televised on SuperSport.

Two matches in the restarted season have been called off due to thunderstorms, and with the forecast looking grim, the decision makes sense.

Match preview – Sharks vs Bulls

The Vodacom Bulls will go flat-out to continue the impressive form that has earned them seven victories in eight matches this season as they look to end their five-year Carling Currie Cup losing streak against the Cell C Sharks on Saturday in Durban.

They will, however, be careful to underestimate the Durbanites, who are currently in second position on the table after racking up five victories in seven matches, and who will be well aware that a defeat could see them drop down the standings and place them under pressure with only a few pool games remaining.


Cell C Sharks – 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Phepsi Buthelezi, 22 Jaden Hendrikse, 23 Jeremy Ward.

Vodacom Bulls – 15 David Kriel, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Jacques van Rooyen. Replacements: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Match information – Cell C Sharks v Vodacom Bulls

Date: Saturday, 12 December 2020

Time: 14:00

Venue: Jonsson Kings Park, Durban

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen

Assistant Referees: Stuart Berry and Aimee Barrett-Theron

TMO: Marius Jonker

TV: SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here