Verstappen dominates in Abu Dhabi to end tough season with a win


Red Bull’s Max Verstappen outpaced and held off the challenge of the Mercedes pair to end his difficult season with a win.

Verstappen was comfortably third but well behind Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas and many will hope this final race is a taste of what could come in 2021.

Verstappen wins

The Red Bull driver came home 15 seconds ahead of Bottas who finished ahead of his teammate Hamilton, who returned from a coronavirus induced break.

Verstappen’s teammate Albon came home in fourth but had been well off the pace of the cars in front of him.

McLaren seem to have snatched third place in the Constructor’s Championship after Lando Norris abd Carlos Sainz finished P5 and P6 respectively although the Spaniard faces an investigation for driving too slowly in the pits.

Racing Point surrendered third place after Sergio Perez was forced to retire with a transmission issue on Lap 10 of the race, an unfortunate end to his time in the team for last week’s race winner.

Daniel Ricciardo came home seventh on his final outing for Renault, ahead of the AlphaTauri of Pierre Gasly, while behind Esteban Ocon, Lance Stroll took the final points-paying position in P10 having been passed on the final lap, Ocon cementing Renault’s fifth in the constructors’.

Meanwhile, on his final race for Ferrari, Sebastian Vettel finished P14, behind teammate Charles Leclerc, while in what looks to be his last race in F1, Kevin Magnussen finished P18 for Haas.

Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Results

133Max VerstappenRED BULL RACING HONDA551:36:28.64525
277Valtteri BottasMERCEDES55+15.976s18
344Lewis HamiltonMERCEDES55+18.415s15
423Alexander AlbonRED BULL RACING HONDA55+19.987s12
54Lando NorrisMCLAREN RENAULT55+60.729s10
655Carlos SainzMCLAREN RENAULT55+65.662s8
73Daniel RicciardoRENAULT55+73.748s7
810Pierre GaslyALPHATAURI HONDA55+89.718s4
931Esteban OconRENAULT55+101.069s2
1018Lance StrollRACING POINT BWT MERCEDES55+102.738s1
1126Daniil KvyatALPHATAURI HONDA54+1 lap0
127Kimi RäikkönenALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI54+1 lap0
1316Charles LeclercFERRARI54+1 lap0
145Sebastian VettelFERRARI54+1 lap0
1563George RussellWILLIAMS MERCEDES54+1 lap0
1699Antonio GiovinazziALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI54+1 lap0
176Nicholas LatifiWILLIAMS MERCEDES54+1 lap0
1820Kevin MagnussenHAAS FERRARI54+1 lap0
1951Pietro FittipaldiHAAS FERRARI53+2 laps0
F1 Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here