Watch: Currie Cup highlights Sharks 32-29 Bulls – 12 December 2020


The Sharks hosted the Bulls in the biggest match of Currie Cup round three with the visitors atop the table and threatening to run away from the chasing pack.

Sharks 32-29 Bulls – Match report

The opening was reminiscent of Test match and the teams traded early penalties with the highlight of those a 60-metre bomb from Curwin Bosch who edged the Sharks in front after Morne Steyn missed an early kick.

A great clash was marred by some pedantic refereeing from Marius van der Westhuizen, who sent one player from each side to the bin for high tackles. First Marius Louw of the Sharks and then Jacques van Rooyen of the Bulls.

The first try came on the half-hour as former Bull, Manie Libbok burst through the line and set Lukhanyo Am away for a simple run-in.

The Bulls best attack failed to produce a try as their well-worked maul was sacked and they accepted the three points from the resultant penalty.

At 14-9 just before the break, the Sharks thought they had scored again but the TMO ruled that Dan Jooste picked the ball up in the ruck.


The Bulls started the second half with a great deal of impetus, but the Sharks scored first extending their lead to 17-9.

Marco van Staden burst through as the Sharks lost focus and made the game close again.

The Sharks discipline let the Bulls back into the contest as Steyn slotted a pair of penalty goals.

When Cornal Hendricks scythed through it seemed the Bulls had control of the game, but the Sharks found their way back into it soon enough.

The Sharks got a maul going against the more fancied Bulls pack and went all the way over. Bosch’s kick came back off the upright, leaving the Sharks needing another score.

Bosch and Yaw Penxe combined for a brilliant score that put the Sharks ahead with less than five minutes to play.

The Bulls had a chance to force a tie with a late penalty goal but Steyn missed the pressure kick and the Sharks won a tense and dramatic contest.

Sharks flank Dylan Richardson won the man of the match award.

Sharks vs Bulls – Currie Cup relive the action here


Cell C Sharks – 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Phepsi Buthelezi, 22 Jaden Hendrikse, 23 Jeremy Ward.

Vodacom Bulls – 15 David Kriel, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Jacques van Rooyen. Replacements: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren.

Match information – Sharks vs Bulls

Date: Saturday, 12 December 2020

Time: 14:00

Venue: Jonsson Kings Park, Durban

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen

Assistant Referees: Stuart Berry and Aimee Barrett-Theron

TMO: Marius Jonker

TV: SuperSport Rugby and Grandstand Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here