One-Day Cup: Dolphins begin defence with a win over the Titans


The Dolphins started their One-Day Cup defence with a 98 run win over the Titans in the Potchefstroom bubble.

Titans skipper Grant Thomson won the toss, and put the Dolphins in to bat and saw his bowlers make early inroads.

Starting with a win

After seperating Dolphins openers Marques Ackermann (19) and Grant Roelofson with the score on 38, Dayyaan Galiem cleaned up Ruan de Swardt (6) who has just moved to Durban after getting his start in Centurion with Northerns.

The Dolphins were reeling after their middle-order stalwarts and internationals David Miller (0) and Khaya Zondo (5) departed cheaply to leave the 79 for 4 in the 16th over.

Roelofson (65) just about kept the Dolphins together and showed great intent until he was undone by Tabraiz Shamsi.

The Dolphins lower order came through in a big way as Andile Phehlukayo (51) and Senuran Muthusamy (70*) shared a 50-run stand after the former had put on 54 with Roelofson.

Muthusamy held the lower-order together and struck some lusty blows. He, along with Frylinck (30) helped the Dolphins finish well and end with a competitive 272 for seven.

Galiem was the pick of the Titans bowlers with two for 22 and Kyle Abbott managed one for 55 on his Titans debut.

Mandla Mashimbyi’s charges then struggled in the face of some wily bowling by the opposition.

They lost half the team with just over 100 on the board and failed to find any rhythm. Theunis de Bruyn (36) and captain Grant Thomson (27) were the only two amongst the top five to cross 25.

At one stage they slipped to 140 for eight and looked in danger of being bowled out, but Abbott (22) and Thando Ntini (32) batted for more than 11 overs to reduce the margin of defeat.

Dolphins vs Titans – Scorecard

Marques Ackerman c Dala b Galiem1923412082.61
Grant Roelofsen †c Dala b Shamsi65691176194.20
Ruan de Swardt b Galiem91591060.00
David Miller c Thomson b Ntini034000.00
Khaya Zondo c †Herman b Dala519231026.32
Andile Phehlukwayo c Ntini b Abbott51691046073.91
Senuran Muthusamy not out706710452104.48
Robbie Frylinck c Thomson b Ntini3036551183.33
Prenelan Subrayen (c)not out008000.00
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 21)23
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 5.44)272/7
Did not bat: Kerwin Mungroo, Ottniel Baartman 
Fall of wickets: 1-38 (Marques Ackerman, 7.1 ov), 2-49 (Ruan de Swardt, 9.5 ov), 3-51 (David Miller, 10.3 ov), 4-79 (Khaya Zondo, 15.6 ov), 5-133 (Grant Roelofsen, 26.5 ov), 6-183 (Andile Phehlukwayo, 36.4 ov), 7-260 (Robbie Frylinck, 49.3 ov)
Kyle Abbott905516.11265130
Dayyaan Galiem602223.67262030
Thando Ntini1016226.20333251
Junior Dala813914.88295040
Tabraiz Shamsi1004514.50313040
Neil Brand704806.86144110
Neil Brand c de Swardt b Mungroo620380030.00
Diego Rosier c †Roelofsen b Frylinck712181058.33
Theunis de Bruyn c Miller b de Swardt3652845069.23
Rubin Hermann †lbw b Muthusamy1840491045.00
Grant Thomson (c)c Ackerman b Mungroo2736471175.00
Sibonelo Makhanya c & b Muthusamy2039741051.28
Dayyaan Galiem c Miller b de Swardt1122301050.00
Junior Dala b de Swardt1780014.29
Kyle Abbott not out2230411073.33
Thando Ntini not out3242343176.19
Extras(b 5, lb 4, w 7)16
TOTAL(50 Ov, RR: 3.92)196/8
Did not bat: Tabraiz Shamsi 
Fall of wickets: 1-11 (Diego Rosier, 4.3 ov), 2-30 (Neil Brand, 8.1 ov), 3-71 (Rubin Hermann, 18.6 ov), 4-85 (Theunis de Bruyn, 21.5 ov), 5-114 (Grant Thomson, 29.3 ov), 6-137 (Dayyaan Galiem, 35.4 ov), 7-138 (Junior Dala, 37.1 ov), 8-140 (Sibonelo Makhanya, 38.2 ov)
Robbie Frylinck802513.13322000
Kerwin Mungroo721622.29331010
Ottniel Baartman402706.75124020
Prenelan Subrayen813604.50293010
Andile Phehlukwayo5.301402.55200000
Senuran Muthusamy1013923.90352100
Ruan de Swardt7.303034.00272110
Senwes Park, Potchefstroom
TossTitans, elected to field first
SeriesOne-Day Cup
Match days09 January 2021 – day match (50-over match)
UmpiresAbdoellah Steenkamp Shaun George
TV UmpireArno Jacobs
Reserve UmpireAbongile Sodumo
Match RefereeLaurence Matroos
PointsDolphins 5, Titans 0 Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here