Proteas dominate opening day of second Test against Sri Lanka


The Proteas enjoyed a dominant first day of the second Test of their World Test Championship series against Sri Lanka.

After Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first they were shot out for 157 before tea. While the wicket offered a little for the quicks, there weren’t demons in the pitch at all as evidenced by South Africa’s response.

Proteas on top

The Proteas reach 148 for 1 by the close of play to move within 9 runs of Sri Lanka’s total with just one wicket down.

Sri Lanka made a decent start to the day despite losing skipper Dimuth Karunaratne early on to a spitting delivery from Anrich Nortje.

They came unstuck after a solid partnership between Kusal Perera and Lahiru Thirimanne.

Wiaan Mulder claimed three wickets in three overs just before lunch and Nortje claimed his second and the fifth to fall in the final over of the morning session.

After some brave efforts from the Sri Lanka lower order Nortje would come back to remove the tail and finish with figures of 6/56, his second Test five-wicket haul.

Sri Lanka struggle with the ball

The Proteas openers were offered little early on and Aiden Markram eventually had a fiddle just outside his off-stump as was caught in the slips for five to give Sri Lanka debutant Asitha Fernando his first Test wicket.

Dean Elgar and Rassie van der Dussen were content to grind away and tire the Sri Lanka attack out.

Elgar went past 4000 Test runs during his innings and ended the day unbeaten on 92 while van der Dussen managed 40*. The pair put on an unbroken 114 run stand.

South Africa vs Sri Lanka second Test: Day one


Dimuth Karunaratne (c)c †de Kock b Nortje232006.25
Kusal Perera c Markram b Mulder606711089.55
Lahiru Thirimanne c du Plessis b Mulder17303056.67
Kusal Mendis c van der Dussen b Mulder04000.00
Minod Bhanuka c van der Dussen b Nortje5101050.00
Niroshan Dickwella †c †de Kock b Nortje7101070.00
Dasun Shanaka c †de Kock b Nortje4170023.53
PWH de Silva c †de Kock b Sipamla292750107.41
Dushmantha Chameera c †de Kock b Nortje22294075.86
Vishwa Fernando not out2110018.18
Asitha Fernando  b Nortje461066.67
Extras(lb 5)5
TOTAL(40.3 Ov, RR: 3.89)157
Fall of wickets: 1-19 (Dimuth Karunaratne, 9.5 ov), 2-71 (Kusal Perera, 20.1 ov), 3-71 (Kusal Mendis, 20.5 ov), 4-80 (Lahiru Thirimanne, 22.5 ov), 5-84 (Minod Bhanuka, 23.6 ov), 6-93 (Niroshan Dickwella, 25.5 ov), 7-110 (Dasun Shanaka, 29.5 ov), 8-149 (PWH de Silva, 37.1 ov), 9-151 (Dushmantha Chameera, 38.3 ov), 10-157 (Asitha Fernando, 40.3 ov)
Lungi Ngidi1034404.4000
Anrich Nortje14.315663.8600
Lutho Sipamla932713.0000
Wiaan Mulder732533.5700


Dean Elgar not out9211916077.31
Aiden Markram c Mendis b Fernando5210023.81
Rassie van der Dussen not out40826048.78
Extras(b 4, lb 4, w 3)11
TOTAL(37 Ov, RR: 4.00)148/1
Yet to bat: Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock (c)†, Temba Bavuma, Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje, Lutho Sipamla, Lungi Ngidi 
Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Aiden Markram, 7.3 ov)
Vishwa Fernando1004004.0010
Asitha Fernando1023013.0010
Dushmantha Chameera703404.8600
Dasun Shanaka611302.1710
PWH de Silva402305.7500 Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here