CAF makes U-turn on four countries hosting Afcon ties

CAF Champions League

CAF has agreed on a temporary lifting of the ban placed on four countries for the AFCON 2021 qualifier matches because of the current travel restrictions in Africa and around the world due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Earlier today, the Sierra Leone FA received a letter from CAF, which reads…

“The CAF emergency committee has based on the Covid-19 pandemic and current travel restrictions decided to exceptionally lift the ban on the Siaka Steven Stadium and allow only the remaining Afcon 2021 qualifiers (match-day 5 and 6) to be played,”

“After the above-mentioned match-days, Sierra Leone’s playing territory will automatically again be removed from the list of CAF approved stadiums and will not be available for selection on Caf competition management system.”

Burkina Faso and Burundi were also sent the same letter.

Initially, CAF had instructed the four countries to move their final home matches to a neutral ground after carrying out an investigation on their stadia. The investigation showed that the countries did not meet the CAF required standards to host international matches.

Following the instructions, Sierra Leone had gone to secure a venue in Conakry, Guinea as a host ground for their tie against Benin Republic.

But with this new development, Sierra Leone are now free to play at Freetown while Burkina Faso can now host their Group B match with South Sudan in Ouagadougou.

Also, Burundi, who was yet to secure a place but in talk with Morocco can now play their Group E tie in Bujumbura. And Niger vs Ivory Coast scheduled to hold on 26 March can now be moved back to Stade General Seyni Kountche in Niamey, Niger.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here