MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures: Sundowns to renew rivalries with Celtic


The top eight spots in the PSL log were confirmed as the league concluded on Saturday, with all qualifying teams subsequently discovering who they will be facing in the first round of MTN8 fixtures.

Unlike the other domestic cup competitions, the MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures are not determined via a draw, but by the final league placing of the teams involved.

MTN8 quarterfinals 

As it’s been over the years, the league champions lock horns with the team finishing eighth, meaning a repeat of the Nedbank Cup final is on the cards with Mamelodi Sundowns set to square off against Bloemfontein Celtic.

The two sides meet as the Nedbank Cup concludes on Tuesday, and will likely renew rivalries in mid-October, a week after the 2020/21 season kicks off.

Second-placed Kaizer Chiefs square off against Maritzburg United, who were somewhat of a bogey side in the recently-concluded campaign, while Orlando Pirates also take on a side they failed to defeat in Cape Town City.

Despite not competing in the top flight last season, Limpopo-based outfit Tshakuma Tsha Mandivhandzila (TTM) will also be in the mix.

This is after the club’s owners purchased the PSL status three-time top-eight competition winners of Bidvest Wits, who bow out of the league after finishing fourth.

TTM have a tough task ahead of them in their maiden MTN8 fixture, as they come up against defending champions Supersport United first up.

Winners of the MTN8 will pocket R8 million, making the competition only second to the league in terms of prize money.

Quarterfinal dates, venues and kick-off times are expected to be announced at a later date.

Full fixtures list

Mamelodi Sundowns vs Bloemfontein Celtic

Kaizer Chiefs vs Maritzburg United

Orlando Pirates vs Cape Town City 

TTM vs SuperSport United Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here