PSL golden boot: All the past winners – 1997 to 2020


Orlando Pirates’ Gabadinho Mhango and Peter Shalulie of Highlands Park finished as joint winners of the PSL golden boot, only the second instance where the prize has been shared since the league’s inception in 1996.

Both players netted in the final round of fixtures, each notching up his 16th goal for the campaign and equalling the tally bagged by Black Leopards’ Mwape Musonda, who topped the charts in the previous season.

Most goals by a player in a single PSL season

This was some distance away from the PSL record, which has now stood for 15 years.

Zambian striker Collins Mbesuma is the man who holds that accolade after banging in 25 league goals for Kaizer Chiefs in the 2004/05 season.

‘Ntofontofo’ is also the only player to have claimed the PSL golden boot twice, doing so the second time in the colours of the now-defunct Mpumalanga Black Aces.

In 24 seasons, only four times has the 20-goal mark been breached. This last occurred in the 2011/12 season when the league’s all-time leading goal scorer Siyabonga Nomvethe found the net 20 times for Moroka Swallows.

Since then, even just ten goals have proven enough to clinch the PSL golden boot, as was the case when Kaizer Chiefs’ Bernard Parker walked away with the prize in 2014.

Past PSL golden boot winners 

1996–97: Wilfred Mugeyi (Bush Bucks) – 22 goals 

1997–98: Keryn Jordan (Manning Rangers) – 11

1998–99: Pollen Ndlanya (Kaizer Chiefs) – 21 

1999–00: Dennis Lota (Orlando Pirates) -18

2000–01: Gilbert Mushangazhike (Manning Rangers) – 19

2001–02: Ishmael Maluleke (Manning Rangers) – 18

2002–03: Lesley Manyathela (Orlando Pirates) -18 

2003–04: Jackie Ledwaba (Zulu Royals/AmaZulu) – 14 

2004–05: Collins Mbesuma (Kaizer Chiefs) – 25

2005–06: Mame Niang (Moroka Swallows) – 14 

2006–07: Chris Katongo (Jomo Cosmos) – 15

2007–08: James Chamanga (Moroka Swallows) – 14

2008–09: Richard Henyekane (Golden Arrows) – 19

2009–10: Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns) – 17

2010–11: Knowledge Musona (Kaizer Chiefs) – 15 

2011–12: Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) – 20

2012–13: Katlego Mashego (Moroka Swallows) – 13

2013-14: Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs) – 10 

2014–15: Moeketsi Sekola (Free State Stars) – 14

2015–16: Collins Mbesuma (Mpumalanga Black Aces) – 14

2016–17: Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City) – 13 

2017-18: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns) and Rodney Ramagalela (Polokwane City) – 11

2018-19: Mwape Musonda (Black Leopards) – 16

2019-20: Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates) and Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park) – 16 Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here