Europa League group stage draw: Few glamour ties for EPL sides


The Europa League group stage draw has not given the Premier League side’s too many glamour ties to look forward to from 22 October.

Jose Mourinho’s Tottenham Hotspur were handed a tricky Europa League group at the draw on Friday 2 October.

Spurs will target progression from their group that includes Belgian Cup winners Royal Antwerp, Bulgarian champions Ludogorets and LASK of Austria.

Few glamour ties for English sides

Leicester City also have a stiff task to get out of a group that will see them travel to Portugal, Greece and the Ukraine to face Braga, Aek Athens and Zorya Luhansk.

Arsenal also face Austrian opponents in Rapid Wien but won’t clock up the miles of their Premier League rivals as their away days will be in Ireland, Norway and Austria. Dundalk and Molde make up the rest of Group B.

Scottish Champions Celtic have been drawn in what might be considered the group of death with AC Milan, Lille and Sparta Prague standing in the way of a place in the knockout stages for Neil Lennon’s charges. Celtic and Milan last met in the Champions League group stage in 2013/14. 

Celtic’s fierce rivals Rangers’ take a spot in Group D with Benfica, Standard Liege of Belgium and Lech Poznan of Poland. Steven Gerrard’s side 

The first round of the Europa League group stage will take place on 22 October 2020. UEFA announced on Thursday 1 October that they will allow spectators back at a maximum of 30 per cent of capacity in countries where governments have given approval.

This season’s final is scheduled to be played in Gdansk, Poland on 26 May 2021.

Europa League group draw

Draw for the group stage of the 2020/21 Europa League, made on Friday.

Group A: Roma (ITA), Young Boys (SUI), CFR Cluj (ROM), CSKA Sofia (BUL)

Group B: Arsenal (ENG), Rapid Vienna (AUT), Molde (NOR), Dundalk (IRL)

Group C: Bayer Leverkusen (GER), Slavia Prague (CZE), Hapoel Beer-Sheva (ISR), Nice (FRA)

Group D: Benfica (POR), Standard Liege (BEL), Rangers (SCO), Lech Poznan (POL)

Group E: PSV Eindhoven (NED), PAOK (GRE), Granada (ESP), Omonia Nicosia (CYP)

Group F: Napoli (ITA), Real Sociedad (ESP), AZ Alkmaar (NED), Rijeka (CRO)

Group G: Braga (POR), Leicester City (ENG), AEK Athens (GRE), Zorya Luhansk (UKR)

Group H: Celtic (SCO), Sparta Prague (CZE), AC Milan (ITA), Lille (FRA)

Group I: Villarreal (ESP), Qarabag (AZE), Maccabi Tel Aviv (ISR), Sivasspor (TUR)

Group J: Tottenham Hotspur (ENG), Ludogorets (BUL), LASK (AUT), Antwerp (BEL)

Group K: CSKA Moscow (RUS), Dinamo Zagreb (CRO), Feyenoord (NED), Wolfsberg (AUT)

Group L: Gent (BEL), Red Star Belgrade (SRB), Hoffenheim (GER), Slovan Liberec (CZE)

Also read: Champions League 2020: Group stage draw match-ups confirmed Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here