MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures, venues, kick-off times confirmed


The Premier Soccer League (PSL) confirmed the MTN8 quarterfinal fixtures, venues and kick-off times, with the tournament kicking off the upcoming season.

The tournament gets underway on the weekend of 17 and 18 October, with all four matches played behind closed doors as per COVID-19 regulations.

MTN8 quarterfinals confirmed

As it’s been over the years, the league champions lock horns with the team finishing eighth, meaning a repeat of the Nedbank Cup final is on the cards with Mamelodi Sundowns set to square off against Bloemfontein Celtic.

The two sides met in the Nedbank Cup final in September, in a match that ended in controversy which threatened to overshadow the result which saw the Brazilians complete a historic domestic treble.

This particular fixture will see the men from Tshwane begin life without long-time mentor Pitso Mosimane, who has been replaced as head coach by his former assistants Manqoba Mngqithi and Rhulani Mokwena, who will be sharing duties at the helm.

Second-placed Kaizer Chiefs square off against Maritzburg United, who were somewhat of a bogey side in the recently-concluded campaign, while Orlando Pirates also take on a side they failed to defeat in Cape Town City.

Despite not competing in the top flight last season, Limpopo-based outfit Tshakuma Tsha Mandivhandzila (TTM) will also be in the mix.

This is after the club’s owners purchased the PSL status three-time top-eight competition winners of Bidvest Wits, who bow out of the league after finishing fourth.

TTM have a tough task ahead of them in their maiden MTN8 fixture, as they come up against defending champions Supersport United first up.

Winners of the MTN8 will pocket R8 million, making the competition only second to the league in terms of prize money..

Full fixtures list

Saturday, 17 October

TTM vs SuperSport United at Thohoyandou Stadium, kick-off at 15:00

Orlando Pirates vs Cape Town City at Orlando Stadium, kick-off at 18:00

Sunday, 18 October

Kaizer Chiefs vs Maritzburg United at FNB Stadium, kick-off at 15:00

Mamelodi Sundowns vs Bloemfontein Celtic at Lucas Moripe Stadium, kick-off at 18:00


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here