Super Rugby Unlocked: Blommetjies becomes Cheetahs centurion


The Cheetahs have named their team to face the Bulls in the second round of their Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked campaign on Friday 16 October in Bloemfontein.   

Blommetjies brings up his 100

Clayton Blommetjies will be running onto the field for the 100th time in a Cheetahs jersey (career total for the Cheetahs includes Pro14 appearances).

“Clayton had his ups and downs definitely over the years. He grew into not only talented, but also a mature player. If you look at the ball carries he makes, most of the times he is the top ball carrier, so he gets involved,” assistant coach Corniel van Zyl said.

“For this week it will be a special occasion for him and I’m looking forward to seeing how he can play and do well for the team.”

Blommetjies made the most offloads in round one of Super Rugby Unlocked while winger Malcolm Jaer was named player of the week after the Cheetahs 53-31 win over the Pumas.

The Cheetahs have kept faith with the starting XV that built their lead last weekend when they The gained the most meters of any side in Round 1 of Super Rugby Unlocked. 

Coach Hawies Fourie makes one change to the bench with Jacques du Toit coming in as the reserve hooker.

The referee for the match is Cwengile Jadezweni. He will be assisted by Ben Crouse and Griffon Colby. The TMO is AJ Jacobs. 

Wilmar Arnoldi (cheekbone), Reniel Hugo (knee), Aranos Coetzee (ankle), Rhyno Smith (quad), Duncan Saal (hamstring), Dries Swanepoel (calf) were ruled out of contention for the squad through injury.

Double World Cup-winner Frans Steyn made his Cheetahs debut against the Pumas and should be looking to prove he is still Springbok quality against a very good Bulls team drilled by his former mentor Jake White.

Super Rugby Unlocked Cheetahs team

Cheetahs vs Vodacom Bulls, Friday, 16 October, 19:00

15. Clayton Blommetjies

14. Malcolm Jaer

13. Benhard Janse van Rensburg

12. Frans Steyn

11. Rosko Specman

10. Tian Schoeman

9. Ruan Pienaar (C)

8. Jasper Wiese

7. Junior Pokomela

6. Andisa Ntsila

5. Walt Steenkamp

4. Carl Wegner

3. Luan de Bruin

2. Reinach Venter

1. Charles Marais

16. Jacques du Toit

17. Boan Venter

18. Erich de Jager

19. JP du Preez

20. Aidon Davis

21. Chris Massyn

22. Tian Meyer

23. William Small-Smith

The action kicks off at 19:00 with a live broadcast on SuperSport. Due to Covid-19 regulations, supporters will not be able to attend the match. Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here