Themba Zwane opens up after dominating PSL awards


Mamelodi Sundowns attacker Themba Zwane has opened up after a successful night at the PSL Awards on Thursday night.

The 31-year-old was the biggest winner on the day scored a hattrick of individual accolades after helping his side to a domestic treble in the past season.

Themba Zwane dominates PSL awards 

He was named PSL Footballer of the Season, Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season and Midfielder of the Season at the ceremony that was held virtually.

He expressed joy at his achievements, following a season where he contributed to 26 goals in 41 matches, including 14 from his boot.

“I was happy, and I’d like to thank the people that voted for me. I really appreciate it.”

Themba Zwane

He added;

“It means a lot. It shows that there are good things that I’m doing on the field, and coaches appreciate it. I need to keep on pushing.”

Themba Zwane

Mamelodi Sundowns delves into the unknown

A fresh new challenge lies ahead for Zwane and Sundowns as a whole, following the departure of long-time head coach Pitso Mosimane.

The former Bafana mentor has been replaced at the helm by his ex-assistants, Manqoba Mngqithi and Rhulani Mokwena, with the experienced Steve Komphela also coming on board.

Zwane thanked Mosimane, and is looking forward to the new season under the trio of coaches.

“We’re willing to work hard and try to get what they want for us so that we can achieve as a team.”

Themba Zwane

The Bafana star becomes the third Sundowns player named Footballer of the Season in a space of five years, following in the footsteps of ex-teammate Percy Tau, who won the prestigious award in 2018, while another ex-Brazilian, Khama Billiat took the accolade in 2016.

Since the league’s inception in 1996, six men in yellow have been bestowed the prize, including former greats, Raphael Chukwu (1998) Surprise Moriri 2006) and Godfrey Sapula (2007).

1997 – Wilfred Mugeyi (Bush Bucks)

1998 – Raphael Chukwu (Mamelodi Sundowns) 

1999 – Pollen Ndlanya (Kaizer Chiefs)

2000 – Siyabonga Nomvethe (Kaizer Chiefs) 

2001 – Benjani Mwaruwari (Jomo Cosmos)

2002 – Andre Arendse (Santos Cape Town)

2003 – Mbulelo Mabizela (Orlando Pirates) 

2004 – Tinashe Nengomashe (Kaizer Chiefs)

2005 – Collins Mbesuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

2006 – Surprise Moriri (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2007 – Godfrey Sapula (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2008 – Elias Pelembe (Supersport United)

2009 – Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates)

2010 – Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates)

2011 – Thulani Serero (Ajax Cape Town)

2012 – Siyabonga Nomvethe (Moroka Swallows) 

2013 – Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

2014 – Sibusiso Vilakazi (Bidvest Wits)

2015 – Tefu Mashamaite (Kaizer Chiefs)

2016 – Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2017 – Lebogang Manyama (Cape Town City)

2018 – Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns)

2019 – Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)

2020 – Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns) Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here