Bafana Bafana vs Sao Tome blog: Live updates from the FNB Stadium


Bafana Bafana head coach Molefi Ntseki has named his starting lineup for tonight’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier against Sao Tome and Principe.

South Africa face Sao Tome and Principe in their third AFCON qualifier this evening at the FNB Stadium at 21:00. Molefi Ntseki’s men picked up three points, a victory at home against Sudan and a defeat away against Ghana, from their opening two games.

Bafana Bafana vs Sao Tome: Live blog

Ntseki names starting XI

South Africa head coach Molefi Ntseki has named a rather surprising lineup, more so in the midfield department, with Dean Furman and Kamohelo Mokotjo selected to dictate matters ahead of the likes of Bongani Zungu and Thabo Nodada. Mosa Lebusa is also preferred ahead of his teammate Motjeka Madisha in defence.

Ntseki was also forced to start without an out-and-out striker after Kermit Erasmus was ruled out through injury. Themba Zwane, Percy Tau and Keagan Dolly will be leading the line in a fixture where many expect Ntseki’s men to score a number of goals against their 182nd Fifa ranked opponents.

Bafana Bafana starting XI vs Sao Tome and Principe:

  • South Africa XI: Ronwen Williams, Thapelo Morena, Innocent Maela, Mosa Lebusa, Thulani Hlatshwayo (C), Dean Furman, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Lebogang Manyama, Themba Zwane, Keagan Dolly, Percy Tau.
  • Subs: Darren Keet (GK), Itumeleng Khune (GK), Siyabonga Dube, Lyle Lakay, Motjeka Madisha, Rushine de Reuck, Bongani Zungu, Luther Singh, Tebogo Mokoena, Thabiso Kutumela, Vincent Pule, Thabo Nodada, Siyethemba Sithebe.

South Africa vs Sao Tome and Principe: Kick-off time, streaming and broadcast info

Action between South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe gets underway at 21:00. The match will be televised live on SABC3 while this website will be providing live updates from the FNB Stadium. Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here