Sharks secure semi-final spot with bonus-point win over Griquas


The Sharks put a bonus-point win on a winless Griquas outfit in the penultimate round of Currie Cup action to secure a place in the semi-finals.

Western Province’s win over the Cheetahs means that the Sharks ensured knockout rugby with their 47-19 win in Durban.

The Sharks started in shaky fashion trying to throw the ball about in their own 22 and seeing Enver Brandt dive on the ball in in-goal to give Griquas an early lead. 

Griquas fought hard but the Sharks came storming back scoring four tries before the break to lead 26-7 at halftime.

First Fez Mbatha crossed then Werner Kok got on the end of a Curwin Bosch crosskick to give the Sharks the lead. 

A dreadful error from Tinus De Beer allowed Yaw Penxe to score the Sharks third try.

Bosch was involved again for the Sharks fourth putting a neat kick through for Lukhanyo Am to chase, and the skipper dotted down.

After the break a brilliant try by Sikhumbuzo Notshe put some distance between the two teams.

The Sharks mauled over for their sixth try of the contest just after the hour with Dyland Richardson the scorer.

Griquas got some reward for their manful efforts as Gideon Van Der Merwe crossed after they got their own maul going but they were already out of the contest.

An adventurous cross-kick in his own 22 from De Beer gifted Aphelele Fassi a try on his return to the Sharks starting lineup.

Gideon Van Der Merwe scored another consolation try late on but it wasn’t enough to deny the Sharks their bonus point.

The Sharks face Western Province in the final round with the winner set to enjoy a home semi-final.

Currie Cup teams – Sharks vs Griquas

Sharks – 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Lukhanyo Am (c), 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Jaden Hendrikse, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Henco Venter, 5 Ruben van Heerden, 4 JJ van Mescht, 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Fezokuhle Mbatha, 1 Ox Nche. Subs: 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Khwezi Mona, 18 Hanru Jacobs, 19 Aston Fortuin, 20 Dylan Richardson, 21 Sanele Nohamba, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Anthony Volmink.

Griquas – 15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Eduan Keyter, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Enver Brandt, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger (c), 8 Johan Momsen, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Ewan Coetzee, 3 John-Roy Jenkinson, 2 Alandre van Rooyen, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel. Subs: 16 CJ Conradie, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Tijde Visser, 19 Adre Smith, 20 Siba Qoma, 21 Ashlon Davids, 22 Johnathan Francke, 23 Daniel Kasende, 24 Bandisa Ndlovu, 25 Raegan Oranje. Protection Status


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here